May 2017: Cherry Chip Cake with Russian Piping Tips

YOU WIN SOME YOU LOSE SOME

This month, was definitely a FAIL.  I followed the recipe but I think I forgot some of my mainstay gluten free baking tips and the cake did not turn out.  It was dense folks – like super dense.

Even my son said, “Mom, this cake is hard – but the frosting is AWESOME!”

WHAT DID I DO WRONG?

First off, I was being super silly and thinking that I could replace gluten free flour with regular flour on a 1:1 basis. Nope- not the case folks.

I also used a really high starch content flour and made cake flour out of it (added MORE starch). I think this is really what made it fail.

Lastly, I didn’t whip the batter enough. Normally, with gluten free products you need to whip that batter a TON with a kitchen aid mixer to activate the xanthan gum or guar gum and I didn’t do this.

From a non-gluten free stand point, I didn’t follow the recipe and didn’t use  8inch round baking pans because I do not have them – I used 9inch rounds.  I’m not sure if this was an issue but it was different from the recipe.

Bummer.

IMG_2428

WHAT WENT WELL?

Well as my son mentioned earlier – the frosting was pretty awesome.

I made this super easy chocolate buttercream for the filling because it is easy and no fuss – PLUS – it tastes really great.

I also used my simple buttercream recipe for the outside and the flowers.

IMG_2431

ANYTHING ELSE YOU WANT TO TELL US?

Yep. I got these new Russian flower tips.  These tips are supposed to create perfect flowers (roses, tulips, etc..) with one squeeze and a twist.  It is tougher than it looks folks and that was after several hours watching it being done on YouTube.

The first try was an epic fail because my frostings were way too loose. I like to use cream and make super fluffy and yummy frosting. Well you need the complete opposite in order to make these flowers (Note to self: use stiff frosting for flowers).  I did not want to add anymore powdered sugar because then it gets just really too sweet for me.  So to solve this I put the frosting in the fridge to firm up a bit and I did get some nice flowers but not exactly what I was looking for.  They almost looked more like a rubber stamped image then a flower.

Lastly, I waited until too late in the day and my lighting was bad. I also decided to fiddle around with my camera and I don’t think that worked out for me either. I’m not posting any of those pics – because they are B-A-D. Ugh.

IMG_2429

MAMA SAID THERE WOULD BE DAYS LIKE THIS

Yes, she did. Oh boy. Honestly a lot more could have gone wrong than what did but in the end, a heck of a lot really went wrong this month. You know what though? That’s ok.

These days on social media all you see and hear about is how great everyone’s lives are going – blah, blah, blah.  The reality is, is that not everything is perfect and not everything turns out the first time around – AND THAT’S OK!!!

Failure to me is an opportunity to learn from your mistakes and to have the resiliency to try again and move forward.  So it’s all good…..

P.S. It was also my husband’s birthday cake – thankfully he doesn’t eat cake so I didn’t get any unsolicited feedback from him about this… LOL!

P.P.S. Also if you are interested here is the link to the original recipe I tried to convert. I feel like I have to give it one more try.. so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

