March 2017: Gluten Free Lemonade Cookies

 GIRL SCOUT COOKIES, GET YOUR GIRL SCOUT COOKIES

Right now in MN we are in full swing Girl Scout Cookie season and we are a girl scouting family.  We’ve had stacks of cases of all kinds of cookies in our entry way since mid-February.

Usually this isn’t a big deal, because my son really isn’t into cookies (yay!).  I am into the cookies though and sometimes it’s hard to not just saunter over to the stash and open a box of your favorite kind.  This year, I’ve been pretty darn decent about it but my son came up to me one day and said, “Mom, I want a lemonade.”  Of course I knew he wasn’t talking about a cool drink but the yellow lemony girl scout cookie.

I told him “sure! no problem!” I knew my very favorite blogger, Nicole Hunn, over at gluten free on a shoestring has a recipe for gluten free lemonades. I’ve never actually  made them and they look gorgeous.

It wasn’t what I was looking for though, so I needed to start thinking about what I did want out of this cookie.

original

Above Photo: Lemonade Girl Scout Cookie from ABC Bakers

MY FAVORITE SUGAR COOKIE

I love soft sugar cookies with fluffy frosting.  They are my favorite and we make them every Christmas and sometimes other times of the year just for fun.  They are just like those cookies in every grocery store that are just so wonderful and full of sugary goodness.

Again, Nicole (the goddess of gluten free baking) on her gluten free blog has the perfect recipe for this classic sugar cookie.  I’ve made it a bunch of times, it always turns out, and it’s delicious.

Then the wheels started turning.  How can I turn THIS sugar cookie into a lemony dream come true?

THE CONCEPT REALIZED

Basically, what I did was I took both of the recipes listed above and merged them into heavenly goodness that just melts in your mouth but gives you that intense lemon flavor.  I equate the final cookie to a lemon bar in a cookie.  It was awesome.

I actually think that the cookie just alone is a great lemon cookie.  I had one a few minutes out of the oven and I can’t even describe the fantastic moment that was.  It was warm and lemony. It’s not a gooey cookie but it was so delightful.

The lemon frosting could probably also be used for another recipe in which you need lemon frosting. It’s that good.  Both of my kids took shots of the lemon frosting straight from the piping bag (after I was done with the cookies of course) into their mouths (and yes – we are weird like that).

The only significant difference was that I used True Lemon’s Lemonade packets and not the granular lemon packets.  I mean I was making “lemonades” right? It seemed appropriate.

IMG_2268

THE VERDICT

Now the kids, had different reactions to the cookies – I’ve created culinary monsters people, I really have.

My gluten free kid: He said the cookies were good but maybe I could leave the lemon out of the cookie part and just leave the lemon in the frosting.  He ate the whole thing anyway.

My non-gluten free kid: She said it was just way too lemony.  She didn’t like the cookie or the frosting really. It was just too strong for her but she finished her half of a cookie as well.

My neighbors and the friends that I gave the cookies to said they were good and personally, I really thought they were super awesome. Then again, I really love lemon flavored things and I like it to really taste like lemon. I don’t want a yellow baked item that says it’s lemon because of the color and then you taste it and it’s not even close to tasting like lemons.

My husband took the remaining cookies to work and he said they were gone in a flash!

IMG_2297

THE GLUTEN FREE LEMONADE COOKIE RECIPE

Recipe adapted from Gluten Free on a Shoestring’s Soft Frosted Sugar Cookies and Gluten Free Lemonades Girl Scout Cookies Copy Cat Recipes

COOKIE RECIPE & INSTRUCTIONS

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups (280g) gluten free flour with xanthan gum included (I used Cup4Cup)
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum (if not in the flour blend)
  • 3 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 Cup (100 g) granulated sugar
  • 3 Tablespoons (22 g) powdered sugar
  • 1 large egg (room temp)
  • 8 teaspoons butter (softened at room temp)
  • juice of one small lemon
  • zest of one small lemon
  • 3 packets of True Lemon’s Lemonade

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix all dry ingredients together in a bowl and set aside.
  3. Mix the butter, egg, lemon juice & zest, and packets of lemonade in your stand mixer with a paddle attachment.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture and mix well.
  5. The dough will be very soft and moist.
  6. On a floured surface, roll out the dough with a floured rolling pin until it is 1/3 inches thick.
  7. Use desired round cookie cutter to cut out the cookies.
  8. Place the cookies on a cookie sheet that has been covered with unbleached parchment paper.
  9. Bake for 12 minutes or until the cookies are turning slightly brown.
  10. Cool for 5 minutes on the cookie sheet upon coming out of the oven.
  11. Cool completely on a wire rack.

 

FROSTING RECIPE & INSTRUCTIONS

Ingredients:

  • 8 Tablespoons of softened butter
  • pinch of kosher salt
  • 2 packets of True Lemon’s Lemonade
  • juice of one small lemon
  • zest of one small lemon
  • 2 1/2 Cups of powdered sugar
  • 2-3 Tablespoons heavy cream
  • 2 Tablespoons meringue powder

Instructions:

  1. Mix all the butter, salt, lemonade, and the lemon juice & zest together in your stand mixer with the paddle attachment.
  2. Slowly add in the powdered sugar & meringue powder.
  3. Mix well.
  4. Add the heavy cream and let the mixer whip the frosting.

 

FROSTING THE COOKIES

  1. Put the frosting into a piping bag that has a large circular tip.
  2. Pipe the frosting on the cooled sugar cookies in a circular fashion.
  3. With a wet finger or small knife, smooth out the piping lines.
  4. Add decorations to the top if desired(I used large coarse sugar).

IMG_2299

Leave a Reply

