January 2017: Almond Cream Cake

WHAT’S UP FOR THIS MONTH

Ok!  After many weeks of pinning gluteny  filled wheat based cakes to my “2017 gf cake bake” transformation board on Pinterest, I was 100% sure that January was going to feature the champagne cake.

ONE: I’ve never had it and it sounds delicious because come on – champagne is delicious!

TWO: It’s January, the brand spanking new year (!), and we are supposed to celebrate like *rah* – *rah* and all that.

But I wasn’t feeling it. Not in the tiniest of bits was I feeling like the champagne cake.  Nope. Not at all. So I switched gears.

SO WHICH CAKE WAS IT

I could not take my eyes or my mind off of this Almond Cream Cake that I found from the blog: Tastes of Lizzy T’s.

It looked fluffy in all the right ways and that frosting looked divine but mostly, I just really, really love almond flavored stuff.  At least most almond flavored stuff so this was it. I made my decision and man on man, I’m so glad I did because it was the greatest white cake I’ve ever had. Period. End of Story. Amen.

TA DA – HERE IT IS!

It is a beautiful work of art if I do say so myself. The entire family loved it and so did the family that got the other half of it!!  They keep teasing me that they can’t wait until I open up my own gluten free food truck or bakery. HA!

img_2241

DETAILS ABOUT THE RECIPE

I, of course, used the recipe from “Tastes of Lizzy T’s” and converted it into a gluten free one.  How did I do that? Well after scanning the recipe, it was clear that the only gluten filled item was the cake flour.  No problem-o. I know how to convert gluten free flour into cake flour from this awesome page all about gluten free flours on the Gluten Free on a Shoestring blog: GLUTEN FREE FLOUR RECIPES

If you scroll all the way to the very end it states that cake flour is 82% all purpose gluten free flour (one that already has xanthan gum in it please) and 18% corn starch.

Now I had purchased 25lbs – yep you read that right – of Cup4Cup gluten free flour in December in order to get myself ready for this 2017 challenge.  I haven’t used it much but when I have used it, I really liked the results.  I also use Better Batter gluten free flour on a regular basis and always have fantastic results with that but alas I wanted to mix things up here.

Anywho, Cup4Cup is really a bit starchy already so I thought, cripes, now I’m going to add more starch to make it cake flour – how will that work? Yep, Jen, just do it already. So I took the plunge and it turned out great!!!

Here’s how I converted the recipe from the blog:

  • The recipe calls for 3 cups of cake flour
  • For gluten free baking I like to use 140g for 1 Cup of GF flour
    • weighing gluten free flour makes for more reliable baking as GF flours can settle and even scooping them into a measuring cup can result in way more or less flour then you need.
  • Here’s where the calculations come in:
    • 3*140g = 420g of flour
    • 84% of 420g = 352.8 g of GF flour (with xanthan gum in it)
    • 18% of 420g = 75.6 g of corn starch
  • I used my handy dandy kitchen scale to measure all of this out exactly.

Full recipe and instructions below.

WHAT ABOUT THE FROSTING

The frosting that was used on this was that good ‘ol flour and butter mixture that I’ve just never really gotten behind but you know what? I am super sick of just making buttercream. I mean really, how can you be sick of buttercream. It’s so awesome but I was and I wanted to learn new things.

The recipe on “Taste of Lizzy T’s” was not something I wanted to tangle with on this particular day, so I scooted over to “Gluten Free on a Shoestring” because I knew that she already re-made this recipe into a gluten version.  Here is the link to “The BEST Vanilla Frosting” recipe that I used in place of the one on the original recipe.

I followed the recipe to the T and am very familiar with Nicole’s recipes and instructions.  It turned out exactly like she said it would and it spread nicely and piped nicely.  I just wasn’t too crazy for the taste.

Now I did swap out the “Vanilla” for Almond extract since this was the almond cake and the original recipe did that as well. But it was just too buttery for me. I want my frosting to mask the fact that I’m basically eating sugar and butter on a cake.  This did not do it for me. So you win some and lose some I guess.

The good news? It tasted way better ON the actual cake then it did alone. So overall I guess you can call it a WIN.

img_2242

 

FULL RECIPE FOR YOUR GLUTEN FREE ENJOYMENT

Almond Cream Cake (Adapted from Taste of Lizzy T’s)

Ingredients
  • 1 cup butter softened
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 420g GF cake flour which consists of
    • 352.8 g of GF flour with xanthan gum in it
    • 75.6 g of corn starch
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 cup whole milk (any milk will do except nonfat)
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • 3/4 cup egg whites plus 3 tablespoons (I used them out of the carton – worked great)

Instructions

  1. Using a stand mixer, place the softened butter in and cream the butter for about 2 minutes (using the beater blade attachment until it is white in appearance).
  2. Add the sugar to the butter and beat until fluffy (about another 1-2 minutes).
  3. In a small bowl, combine the flour, salt, and baking powder. Set aside.
  4. In a liquid measuring cup (or another bowl), combine the milk and almond extract.
  5. Add the flour mixture to the butter/sugar mixture alternately with the milk.
  6. Set this mixture aside while you beat the egg whites.
  7. Using your stand mixer again with a clean bowl, beat the egg whites with the whisk attachment until they are stiff and form peaks. This may take a minute or two.
  8. Add the stiffly beaten eggs to the cake batter. Fold the egg whites in gently. Do not overmix at this point. If you do, your cake will become more dense.
  9. Grease two  9″ round cake pans and cut parchment paper to line the bottom. Pour the cake batter equally into the prepared cake pans.
  10. Bake the cakes at 350 degrees for 25-27 minutes or until the top bounces back when you touch it and a toothpick comes out mostly clean.
  11. Allow the cakes to cool for 10 minutes, then loosen the edges and remove them from the pans to a wire rack, allowing them to cool completely.
  12. While the cakes are cooling, prepare the frosting.

For the Frosting

  1. The frosting recipe I used was: Gluten Free on a Shoestrings Best Vanilla Frosting Ever with the vanilla extract swapped out for almond extract.
  2. Frost cake as desired.
    • I frosted the middle layer first and then frosted the outside.
  3. Gently press sliced almonds around the sides/edges of the frosted layer cake.
  4. Pipe decorative border and other decorations as desired with remaining frosting.

img_2248

 

ENJOY!!!

Leave a Reply

