Gluten Free Resources on Facebook

WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN?

First off, I admit it – I’ve been MIA for a while. That would be because all of my free time has been spent at ball games and with our new shih tzu puppy, Zoey Clover.  She is a doll and a half but a lot of work!  She is currently four months old and we are still working on housebreaking her.  It’s going really well and she is loved by all.

During this blog hiatus though, I became a member of several gluten free support groups on Facebook which is what this post is about today.

FACEBOOK? REALLY?

Yup, really!  Now, normally I’m not all about joining a bunch of groups on Facebook but I thought I should check these out, for you know, YOU!  I call it blog research……

I’m really glad I did because I have been on the gluten free pulse of the world with these groups.  I have found new gluten free products that I never knew existed and learned about a lot of new gluten free items in restaurants.

WELL, TELL US WHAT THE GROUPS ARE FOR CRIPES SAKE!

Ok, I’ll tell ya the groups I’ve joined: GLUTEN FREE, GLUTEN FREE FAMILIES, and GLUTEN FREE JUDGEMENT FREE.

This last group was a spin off of one of the other ones due to some judgmental responses in regard to how healthy something is or isn’t, etc… Heck one day some lady from overseas was complaining about American paper plate usage.  ok. Not appropriate but whatever, it’s Facebook so moving on.  I don’t get too riled up by this type of behavior but some do and so they created a safe place to post all the gluten free donut recipes that you would ever want! Plus more!

THE PROS OF THESE SITES

The huge pro that I mentioned before is that you will always be on the pulse of all the new gluten free things out there.  Like the fact that General Mills has certified their oats gluten free in Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios!!!  This is a huge win!  But of course, I live in the state were GM headquarters is, and I have yet to locate them. Alas, before we know it that is all that will be on the shelves – happy day!

Another huge pro is that you hear about gluten free friendly restaurants.  I never knew that Culver’s had gluten free buns!!!  This is totally awesome!

THE CONS OF THESE SITES

There are TONS of posts daily. I mean TONS.  I cannot keep up with them all and they completely fill up my feed even though I’ve marked them to not be in my feed. #facebookbug

There are also a lot of posts from newbies who just do not know what to do or where to start.  This can be draining and repetitive.  But helpful all the same too especially if you are in the same boat.

ONWARD TO FACEBOOK

I urge you to check these out if you need more gluten free snack, meal, and restaurant ideas.  These groups are a great resource and I’m pretty sure they let everyone in. I mean, heck – they let me in, didn’t they!!!

Leave a Reply

