Gluten Free Pizza: The Best I’ve Found to Date!

THE NUMBER ONE GLUTEN FREE QUESTION I AM ASKED IS…..

What GF pizza crust do you use? or what kind of GF pizza do you like best?

In fact this question came up a few weeks ago at dance while we were waiting for our daughters.  One mother was trying to go gluten free with her family and my other close friend was considering it for her son.  Well, of course this excites me to no end and I start rattling off GF pizza crusts recipes, blogs where you find these recipes, target aisle locations where you can find these items, etc…  That’s when my friend sighed and said, “why don’t you just start a blog and write all this down for us?”  It then dawned on me that even though I’m 100% comfortable being gluten free now, it was daunting and scary at the beginning and it all needs to be written down for those of you trying to go gluten free, so you have a reference.

SO ON WITH IT, WHAT ARE MY PIZZA RECOMMENDATIONS?

I’ll cover both frozen and make your own recipes here. I’m not that worldly in the frozen pizza market but I do like to have them on hand for a dinner that I need in a pinch.  Making your own gluten free pizzas however is my preferred method and can be quite delicious!

GLUTEN FREE FROZEN PIZZAS

To be honest, I am not a big fan of the frozen gluten free pizzas that are out there.  I’ve only tried a couple because I’m sort of cheap and paying $10 for a frozen pizza gives me hives.  Here is what I’ve tried and what I liked about them:

Udi’s Gluten Free Pizza’s in Cheese & Pepperoni

You can find Udi’s gluten free pizzas at a lot of retail grocery stores and co-ops now.  Normally they are fairly small and my 6 year old son can eat a whole one himself.  With that said, they can be found anywhere from $6-$8 dollars per pizza.

I’ve heard that you can get a larger version for a cheaper price at Costco but I have yet to see them at ours.  If you go to their website, you can find where they are sold in your area.

Taste wise, they are pretty decent.   When we went to Disney World, this was the gluten free pizza of choice and it grew on us.  When these go on sale at Target, I stock up so we have a quick choice in the freezer and my little guy really likes them.  You can also periodically find these on Target’s cartwheel which offers additional savings and on top of that you can get coupons on the Udi’s site as well!

They also sell just the pizza crust.  We have not tried this but a lot of national pizza chains are trying these out for their gluten free customers.

Freshetta’s Gluten Free Pizza in Cheese & Pepperoni

This is a new GF frozen pizza that I found at my local Target the other day.  It is $9.99 there for a 12 inch pizza. It was pretty good actually but man the price is high.  I really liked the crust and the toppings were pretty decent too.  It looks like they also have individual pizzas as well – this could be nice if you are feeding just one gluten free person at home.  Their website has a locator search as well.

Sabatasso’s Gluten Free Pizzas

We usually always find this brand at our local Costco.  You get two cheese pizzas for a very reasonable price point.  I’m not a big fan of them but my kids like them, so I’ll get these when we are there and we don’t have any others in the freezer for a ‘go-to’ dinner.

HOMEMADE GLUTEN FREE PIZZA OPTIONS

Before I get into my favorites, I want to note that not all homemade gluten free crusts will be like a regular gluten filled crust that you knead and so forth.  Most of these are batters that you need to spread with water wetted, oiled, or floured hands.  This is completely normal so do not fret and start adding more flour to make it like what your used to. Trust me on this.

BEST OFF THE SHELF MIX: Glutino GF Crust Mix

I ashamed to tell you that a good friend of mine told me about this mix and I snubbed my nose at her saying that it couldn’t possibly be as good as making my own from scratch (hello big snob!).  Then…. target started running 5-10% off the mix on their cartwheel coupon site and I thought I’d give it a try. HOLY CRAP, did I have to eat crow, because it is AWESOME.

Right now this is our go-to crust recipe because when purchased with a coupon it is very reasonably priced and I usually get two 12 inch pizza crusts out of each box.  I par bake both crusts, use one for our meal and let the other one cool so I can wrap it in plastic wrap and put it in the freezer for a quick meal at another time!

Please note that this is yeast based so you’ll need to allow time for this to rise.  I have found if I do a 45-60 minute rise the crust lands somewhere between a thin and thick crust.  If I let this go (or forget to par bake the second crust for a while) longer than 60 minutes this can turn into a beautiful thicker crust.

This crust has stood up to any and all toppings that I have loaded onto it and we always use at least a pound of cheese on it too.  So wonderful and ooey gooey.  THANKS GLUTINO!

BEST THIN CRUST RECIPE: From girlcooksworld.com

I stumbled upon this homemade thin crust recipe early on in our gluten free days and I have not strayed from it since.  This recipe requires you to have all the gluten free ingredients on hand to mix your own dough, like superfine white rice flour, potato starch, xanthan gum, and yeast.

It takes no time at all to mix up but you will need to let it rise for at least 20 minutes per the instructions.  I’ve let this go longer than 20 minutes and it does not get any thicker per say but the yeast is more developed as far as taste.

We are more delicate with our toppings on this pizza since it is a super thin crust but it reminds us of our thin crust pizzeria days and we love it!

BEST ROLLED OUT CRUST RECIPE: from the Gluten Free on a Shoestring Bakes Bread cook book

I don’t think I have a post yet that doesn’t mention Gluten Free on a Shoestring or Nicole Hunn.  I seriously am in love with her recipes and methods.  Her bakes bread book is her third cook book and offers recipes that act more like our gluten filled counter parts.

The recipe I use specifically is the Thick Crust Pizza Dough on page 187.  I have had to alter it a tad but adding in 1 cup of water in the STARTER section rather than the 3/4 cup and 2 tablespoons of water the recipe originally calls for.  I also added in 1 additional tablespoon of water in the DOUGH portion of the recipe.  Doing this I have found to have a great rise and it continues to be very easy to roll out after spending time in the fridge.

I will warn you, this dough is probably the most involved dough I will recommend.  There is a starter rise, and then a long refrigerator rise.  It’s best not to skimp on any of these steps for the best results.

I have used this dough for many different things but my 100% favorite one is making mini pizza rounds that I cut out with a biscuit cutter after I’ve rolled out the dough.  I send these along with pizza sauce, shredded cheese, and mini pepperoni’s to school in my kids lunches so they can make a “mock” lunchable!  They absolutely love it.

Do any of you have any favorite gluten free frozen pizzas that you’d recommend?  How about your favorite GF pizza dough?  Please let us know in the comments!

P.S. All of the opinions in the post are my own and I’m not getting paid for any of it!

One thought on “Gluten Free Pizza: The Best I’ve Found to Date!

Leave a Reply

